Expand/Collapse
/  Forum Index
   /  AAA Main Forum
/  GANDY pool tables?
Register To Post
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
Clint GANDY pool tables? - 2007/1/5 9:18  

Grasshopper

I'm looking to buy a used Gandy pool table, about 5 or 6 years old. I've never heard of Gandy, and would like some suggestions as to whether or not the table is worth $500 to $600.

They say the table is in "great shape", and was re-felted earlier this year. The people selling it don't know much about tables, either. They don't know how thick the slate is, how many slate sections there are, or anything else.

The pictures seem to show a ball return system rather than leather pockets, but the sellers say that it has plastic drop pockets and a ball storage niche on the end... not a ball return system. Does this sound right?

The base appears to be made of particle (or press) board, with a vinyl veneer. I'm not worried too much about that, as long as the table is solid and playable. I'm NOT a professional, but I do like playing occasionally.

ANY comments would be more than helpful. It seems that Gandy is out of business, and has been followed by American Heirloom.

Thanks for ANY advice!

:-?
9BallroadPro Re: GANDY pool tables? - 2007/1/5 9:26  

Billiards Addict

What you want to find is the old Gandy big G, that was their commercial model and it was built very solid and like a tank. Gandy's were mostly drop pocket tables.

They are a good buy and they pocket balls really nice.

To put one back in perfect condition all you have to do is put on new rubber and felt. Most of the olders ones the rubber is getting pretty soft as most had a lot of hard play in pool rooms where the rubber wears out faster.

If you bought it for 500, put 400 back into it you still have a great deal...

Do check out the rubber first to see how it banks and if the rubber is alive or going dead.

Gandy was in Macon and was a fine table which had been in business for decades. There are a ton of parts still around.